Hello Planet

Hey,

Since I’m new to the planet, I’ll start with an introductionary post.

This is a long postponed step to start my own blog, so it is finally publicly visible what I’m up to.

My name’s Christian Mollekopf, but I tend use Chris as an abbreviation to avoid confusion that I’m christian in terms of the religion (Use whatever you like though, as long as you know what you mean =). I live near Zurich, Switzerland, so I’m native (swiss-) german speaking.

While I’m currently finishing my first year for the bachelor of computer science, there is still plenty of time to hack on KDE.

After being a KDE user for a bit, my first real contribution was the taskbar rewrite back in 2008. After finishing the major part of the work I got tangled up in the UI bits, got frustrated and basically took a 2 Year break from the development (with a couple of retries, but nothing successful).

Still, I kept following the ml and also kept my devel build up to date, because I always knew that I want to get back to helping to shape the most awesome and innovative desktop environment I know. Of course also not last because working with the KDE guys was a tremendous learning experience for me. Aaron Seigo basically mentored my little project back then, and I often think I learned more in this project than the school has taught me so far.

So while still occasionally trying to get D&D nicely working for the manual grouping in the taskbar, I eventually gave up on it when QML appeared on the horizon and I figured it would be easier to implement it in a QML plasmoid than the currently existing buggy QGridLayout.

Anyhow, I needed to find a new niche for my development, and with akonadi and nepomuk  slowly building up, two new very interesting technologies  started to mature.

Since I tend to forget basically everything, and I’m a big fan of todo lists and organizers (in theory…), but never really got around using them, because I don’t like writing on paper (can’t sync to my phone and I can hardly read what I write=), and all the tools I found suck in one way or another (at least for the todolist and notetaking part), I figured eventually that I will have to develop my own Todo-Notetaking-Organizer hybrid. Obviously being able to sync to various webservices, so I can sync to my android phone (via gmail and evernote for instance), and fulltext indexing of all items was also on the wishlist, so I was really looking forward to the upcoming akonadi and nepomuk technologies which provide the perfect pillars for such a project.

So when I started my studies last year, I also started to get really bored (surprise!) and started finally my long planned pet project…

I’ll keep the interesting bits for the next entry =)

Author: cmollekopf

Christian Mollekopf is an open source software enthusiast with a special interest in personal organization tools. He started to contribute actively to KDE in 2008 and currently works for Kolab Systems leading the development for the next generation desktop client.

3 thoughts on “Hello Planet”

  1. It would be really cool if this project could integrate with basket, KDEPim and Calligra Braindump.
    Any plan on supporting googledocs through akonadi?

    Gook Luck with the project!

    1. It does integrate with KDE Pim, meaning you can have the same notes as in kjots and the same todos/events as in KOrganizer. I don’t think I will integrate with basket and braindump though, as they don’t use akonadi afaik.

      More on that in my next post though.

      Cheers

  2. It is my great pleasure to visit your website and to enjoy your excellent post here. I like that very much. I can feel that you paid much attention for those articles, as all of them make sense and are very useful. Thanks so much for sharing. I will be…

Leave a Reply

