Kontact on Windows

I recently had the dubious pleasure of getting Kontact to work on windows, and after two weeks of agony it also yielded some results =)

Not only did I get Kontact to build on windows (sadly still something to be proud off), it is also largely functional. Even timezones are now working in a way that you can collaborate with non-windows users, although that required one or the other patch to kdelibs.

To make the whole excercise as reproducible as possible I collected my complete setup in a git repository [0]. Note that these builds are from the kolab stable branches, and not all the windows specific fixes have made it back upstream yet. That will follow as soon as the waters calm a bit.

If you want to try it yourself you can download an installer here [1],
and if you don’t (I won’t judge you for not using windows) you can look at the pretty pictures.

[0] https://github.com/cmollekopf/kdepimwindows
[1] http://mirror.kolabsys.com/pub/upload/windows/Kontact-E5-2015-06-30-19-41.exe

Kontact_WindowsAccount_Wizard

Author: cmollekopf

Christian Mollekopf is an open source software enthusiast with a special interest in personal organization tools. He started to contribute actively to KDE in 2008 and currently works for Kolab Systems leading the development for the next generation desktop client.

13 thoughts on “Kontact on Windows”

      1. You think we can also get an installer for KF5?

        I’d like to release a version of Kate5, but my knowledge about how to bundle KDE on Windows is pretty much limited… Maybe such a discussion makes sense on Akademy? Would be cool!

  1. From my view there is no need for such efforts. I don’t see any future for Windowz. Do you? Instead you may prefer to spent your time for developing Kontact in Kde Environment. Just my suggestion šŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for your effort!
    @Reg: Some years ago, I would have agreed with you. Now, as I have to use a Windows PC at work I am happy to have my favourite e-mail client for my private mail as well on the work pc.

  3. Hi,
    Just trying Kcontact 4.13.0.7 on Windows 1o, as I am (was) interested in Kolab.
    [K3-Kontact-Beta-latest.exe, Kontact Enterprise E14]

    As soon as I try to set up an email account m KMail, it askes for Kwallet.
    Can’t find anything in documents, or anything via a google search.
    So stuck, and conclude Kontact isn’t credable on Windows!

  4. Excellent website you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of
    any message boards that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feedback from other experienced individuals that
    share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

